Sauce and a Fire

So, I told you I had a funny story. Or maybe you never knew it was funny. Right now, it’s funny. In the moment, it wasn’t so much.

So, I bought an assload bunch of tomato sauce, ok, more like 5 cans and 2 cans of tomatoes. See?

image

Tom Thumb was having an amazing sale. I think I know why too. You really shouldn’t eat heavy ass pasta in the heat of summer. It only makes you hotter. Moving on…it was a dollar a can. SOLD! I thought that buying a bunch, making a lot of spaghetti sauce and freeze it. Good idea! Except, it’s like 100+ degrees in Arlington. I went on with the plan. So, I got my pan (I really need a 3 quart sauce pan) and put my oil in it.

image

I put it on the burner and turned it on. I started opening all 7 of my cans after I got my spices together. Then, sauce happened. Yup, I got tomato sauce on my shirt, right after I was thinking I should put on an apron. So, I ducked into the bathroom to put on a darker shirt. I step into the kitchen to a poof and the burner pan catching fire. Really? WTF?! So, I move the pan, shut off the burner and… I blew on it. Ha! Didn’t work. I also turned on the fan. Thankfully, my kitchen is small and the cups and sink is nearby. Nothing was harmed, except the burner pan. Oops. Also, there was a swear word thrown in.

image

So, I took a break and ended up making a giant batch of spaghetti sauce. I put some aside for the homemade pizza later this week and for dinner last night. I also have 4 batches for spaghetti and one for another pizza in the freezer. Yup, I made a bunch. So, it was a dollar for each batch. I had all other ingredients on hand.
image

I also wound up making a large batch of spaghetti last night. For some reason, I sometimes think I am a cooking for a small army. I made that much. So, for a change, I took it up to Brian’s work for him and his Sous chef. On the way there, I had a momentary freak out. I was taking my homemade spaghetti sauce to not just my husband, but another chef. Crap. Oh well.

There really is nothing saying that just because you married a chef, you are automatically an amazing cook. Nope. I have to work on it. And taste everything, more than once. I screw up, Brian will tell you’re have had some flops. It happens, all the time, even to chefs. Either way, I am glad they liked it, cause I have more where that came from!

So, that’s the story. And it was the first time I have caught a stove on fire, that wasn’t gas.

xoxo jes

Leave a Reply

